Research Radio 4 – Womens Hour

In the interview on the show Women’s Hours on Radio 4 with Melanie C they intorduce the person by saying well-known things about Melanie’s life and so this captured the reader by introducing them to her gently, and not giving away the person straight away. Again, there is music shown before starting the interview but I feel the music tends too go on for too long. I feel that the questions asked  blend in well with the conversation that the interviewer and the subject are having.  The interview is relaxing and easy to listen to because it is casual. With it being casual, perhaps informal I feel the interviewer and the person that is being interviewed feel more relaxed and open to conversating. I have found that this interview is similar to the way Ruby Wax interviews, it is informal as it is not directly asking questions in a straight way. It is structured in the way of a general conversation, bringing questions in when they do, and these make us learn more about Melanie’s life in an honest way.  I like this style of having a conversation but approaching questions to gain answers for the conversation to continue.

I listened to the interview with Holly Hunter and in the introduction her name is first said but then she says about different parts of Holly’s life, ending with the latest part of her life, where she is up to now and her performing role she has been playing for a play. Next in the interview the radio shows an example of a clip of Holly acting. I felt the acting clip went on for a while similar to how the music went on for a while when Melanie C was interviewed. I like how this clip is used in the interview and then it starts straight with a question about her and the role that was shown in the clip. Again, the questions are just like having a conversation. I found the interviewer lets Holly talk as she reveals those answers in a natural way. Also the interviewer knows so much about the role Holly is playing so she can just continue with this conversation and ask a question regarding the role. I think that with the interviewer knowing the subject I think that gives the interviewer the chance to get the next conversation question in, to get new information whilst doing the interview.

I think that this interview is my favourite because it is a social matter shown in media, and this is one of my interests in documentary photography. I really like how the interview states the research fact of a stroke, of how it talks about the amount of people that suffer from Aphasia after having a stroke. They talk about the disability in communication a stroke produces, where the speech is affected, making it sometimes harder to talk, or longer to act upon conversating back to someone.  This information I have found has fed me new information. The last part of the introduction sets the scene of what the interview is going to be about. Then Sharon Smith is brought up in the interview telling her story how she suffers from Aphasia and did not find out until 7 years later. This works because it does not just give out facts on the subject, but invited people who have real-life experience of the suffering. Then a professor is brought in to the interview and he explains more about Aphasia and how it effects people. Then, Sharon is brought in to the interview. I feel that this interview seems alot more formal than the other interviews. Each part is telling something new about Aphasia. The interview brings new information and is telling you about her and how it all started with the symptons she experienced. I like how this interview feeds the viewer information about the disability and also a real-life story that connects to the disability. I feel this is why I feel engaged when I listen to it.  Sometimes the interviewer cuts in when Sharon is talking to gain the information that she wants to know, for example, when she says “I want to know when you became aware and was struggling with speech?” I feel that this technique is good to find out more information on the certain part you would want to get in the interview. I like how the interviewer is joining in with a convesation question to gain answers in this interview. I feel that the interview shows a formal style and also comes across as informal. In this interview I like how there are some questions that are formal and then during the answer it is like she turns it into a conversation  but by doing so, it is a clever way to naturally bring in another question.

Leave a Reply

