Alientated task

Working in pairs if possible name yourselves “Eyes” and “Ears”. Ears is equipped with sound recording equipment (Your phone will be more than adequate!) and blindfolded. Eyes will lead Ears on a guided journey through a range of different environments. Ears will dictate the pace of the journey and say when they want to stop and make dedicated “sound-mark” recordings.

If you have to work alone then perhaps consider choosing an environment in which you can remain motionless with your eyes closed for several minutes. As you do so your sense of hearing will improve and you will begin to focus in on sounds that previously you’d of missed. Now search out these sounds with your recorder and build up a soundscape of them.

For the photography aspect investigate the same environment as a photographer, responding solely to what you see.

At the end of the journey Eyes repeats the route (wearing ear-defenders/plugs) responding to the visual stimuli.

You should end up with a landscape story and a soundscape story. This content should then be uploaded for everyone to share and mash-up. In next week’s session we’ll be combining soundscapes with image-based journeys and layering them with other people’s to make new artefacts. You must license this content as CC BY-SA or CC-BY to enable us to do all of this.

Take time to load up your content with as much information as possible such as the time, location, weather, your mood etc , all of this is information that can be dispensed with if not needed but has the potential to add value if included.

For this task I worked with Louise Greer,  this task was very enjoyable and it was interesting to do. I was ears, so I could only hear and not see, closing my eyes up a street in coventry city centre. The street that we recorded from was not as busy as the other roads in the city centre so there were only some specific sounds and then they would go, so there would be a certain voice that would capture you.

This was something that I had never done before and just the feeling of having no sight made me feel at first that I was in my own world.  I wanted to see what the people looked like around me but I could not sense each of their indentities, when I did stop and record a person in the street I did feel like I was intrudingon something that may have been private and this did make me feel uncomforatable in a way. When using my own eyes I realised I don’t really take in sounds to create a photograph and this is something that I should start to do as the amount of sounds that I recorded would have been nice to have capture each of these sounds in an image.

In the clip are the sounds put together from the journey of having no eye sight.

When we looked at the images and the soundclip they did not really go together but them both together the soundclip and the images really show and gives you a feel of this kind of environment in the city centre and what you would be inspected to hear up this specific street.

 

The mash up of the audio and the images

Leave a Reply

